Broken Ambitions {X}{U}

Instant

Counter target spell unless its controller pays {X}. Clash with an opponent. If you win, that spell’s controller mills four cards. (Each clashing player reveals the top card of their library, then puts that card on the top or bottom. A player wins if their card had a higher converted mana cost.)

Illustrated by Franz Vohwinkel

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Broken Ambitions:
  • The opponent you clash with doesn’t have to be the controller of the targeted spell. (2007-10-01)
  • The clash (and the result of the clash if you win) happens regardless of whether the targeted spell was countered or {X} was paid. (2007-10-01)