Comeuppance {3}{W}

Instant

Prevent all damage that would be dealt to you and planeswalkers you control this turn by sources you don’t control. If damage from a creature source is prevented this way, Comeuppance deals that much damage to that creature. If damage from a noncreature source is prevented this way, Comeuppance deals that much damage to the source’s controller.

Illustrated by Marco Nelor

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Comeuppance:
  • Comeuppance’s effect is not a redirection effect. If it prevents damage, Comeuppance (not the original source) deals damage to the permanent or player as part of that prevention effect. Comeuppance is the source of the new damage, so the characteristics of the original source (such as its color, or whether it had lifelink or deathtouch) don’t affect the new damage. The new damage is not combat damage, even if the prevented damage was. (2014-11-07)