Ward of Piety {1}{W}

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

{1}{W}: The next 1 damage that would be dealt to enchanted creature this turn is dealt to any target instead.

Reluctant to strike at the kami directly, some kitsune trained in more passive fighting techniques.

Illustrated by Tim Hildebrandt

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Ward of Piety:
  • Redirected damage retains its information. For example, your opponent attacks you with Slith Firewalker (which reads, in part, “Whenever Slith Firewalker deals combat damage to a player, put a +1/+1 counter on it.”) and you block with a creature enchanted with Ward of Piety. If you activate Ward of Piety, targeting your opponent, the Slith’s ability triggers during the combat damage step and it gets a +1/+1 counter. It’s still combat damage. (2005-02-01)