Thought Erasure (Guilds of Ravnica #206)

Thought Erasure {U}{B}

Sorcery

Target opponent reveals their hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card.

Surveil 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put it into your graveyard.)

“It’s truly the highest honor, isn’t it? To be remembered? Pity for you.”

Watermark: Dimir

Illustrated by Anna Steinbauer

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Historic
Legacy
Brawl
Vintage
Timeless
Commander
Pauper
Oathbreaker
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Thought Erasure:
  • You surveil 1 even if the opponent doesn’t discard a card, perhaps because they had no cards in hand at all. (2018-10-05)
  • When you surveil, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards into your graveyard, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them into your graveyard. (2018-10-05)
  • You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you’ll surveil last. For others, you’ll surveil and then perform other actions. (2018-10-05)
  • Some spells that instruct you to surveil require targets. You can’t cast a spell without choosing legal targets. If all of those targets become illegal, the spell doesn’t resolve and you won’t surveil. (2018-10-05)