Roiling Vortex {1}{R}

Enchantment

At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, Roiling Vortex deals 1 damage to them.

Whenever a player casts a spell, if no mana was spent to cast that spell, Roiling Vortex deals 5 damage to that player.

{R}: Your opponents can’t gain life this turn.

Illustrated by Campbell White

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Roiling Vortex:
  • An ability that triggers when a player casts a spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered. (2020-09-25)
  • Activating Roiling Vortex’s last ability won’t undo any life gained before it resolved. (2020-09-25)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, Roiling Vortex’s first ability triggers twice during each team’s upkeep. Each instance deals 1 damage to one of the players on that team. (2020-09-25)