Zealot il-Vec {2}{W}

Creature — Human Rebel

Shadow (This creature can block or be blocked by only creatures with shadow.)

Whenever Zealot il-Vec attacks and isn’t blocked, you may have it deal 1 damage to target creature. If you do, prevent all combat damage Zealot il-Vec would deal this turn.

1/1

Illustrated by Chippy

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Zealot il-Vec:
  • When Zealot il-Vec attacks and isn’t blocked, you must choose a target for its ability even if you don’t use it. (2006-09-25)
  • If you choose to have Zealot il-Vec deal 1 damage to a creature and that damage is prevented or replaced, Zealot il-Vec’s combat damage will still be prevented. (2006-09-25)
  • An ability that triggers when something “attacks and isn’t blocked” triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step. (2013-04-15)
  • Once a creature has been blocked, that creature remains blocked and will deal and be dealt combat damage even if it gains or loses shadow or if the blocking creature gains or loses shadow. (2021-03-19)
  • If an attacking creature has multiple evasion abilities, such as shadow and flying, a creature can block it only if that creature satisfies all of the appropriate evasion abilities. (2021-03-19)
  • Multiple instances of shadow on the same creature are redundant. (2021-03-19)