Jwar Isle Avenger {4}{U}

Creature — Sphinx

Surge {2}{U} (You may cast this spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn.)

Flying

Though solitary by nature, the sphinxes did not hesitate to join in the fight against the Eldrazi.

3/3

Illustrated by Ryan Pancoast

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Jwar Isle Avenger:
  • For some cards, surge represents only an alternative cost, a discount that applies if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn. Other cards, like Reckless Bushwhacker, have additional abilities or effects if you paid the surge cost to cast the spell. (2016-01-22)
  • The other spell that you or a teammate cast can be one that’s resolved, one that was countered, or (for instants with surge) one that’s still on the stack. (2016-01-22)
  • If an instant or sorcery spell cast for its surge cost is copied, the copy is also considered to have had its surge cost paid. (2016-01-22)
  • Casting a spell for its surge cost doesn’t change its mana cost or its converted mana cost. (2016-01-22)