The Celestus {3}

Legendary Artifact

If it’s neither day nor night, it becomes day as The Celestus enters the battlefield.

{T}: Add one mana of any color.

{3}, {T}: If it’s night, it becomes day. Otherwise, it becomes night. Activate only as a sorcery.

Whenever day becomes night or night becomes day, you gain 1 life. You may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.

DailyMTG Story Spotlight

Illustrated by Jonas De Ro

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for The Celestus:
  • If you choose to draw a card with The Celestus but some effect replaces that card draw with something else, you will still have to discard a card. (2021-09-24)
  • If a triggered ability triggers whenever day becomes night or night becomes day, it only triggers if it was already either day/night and becomes the other. It does not trigger when the game becomes day or night for the first time. (2021-09-24)
  • Day and night are designations that the game itself can have. The game starts as neither. Once the game becomes day (or less commonly, night), the game will be exactly one of them—day or night—going back and forth for the rest of the game. (2021-09-24)
  • Before a player untaps their permanents during the untap step, the game checks to see if the day/night designation should change. (2021-09-24)
  • If it is day, and the active player of the previous turn cast no spells during their turn, it becomes night. (2021-09-24)
  • If it is night, and the active player of the previous turn cast two or more spells during their turn, it becomes day. (2021-09-24)
  • For more information about Day and Night and the Daybound and Nightbound abilities, please see the Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Mechanics atricle (magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archi…). (2021-09-24)