Death's Caress {3}{B}{B}

Sorcery

Destroy target creature. If that creature was a Human, you gain life equal to its toughness.

The faint smell of cloves, the rustling of the wind, and a paralyzing descent into an airless, fathomless tomb.

Illustrated by James Ryman

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Death's Caress:
  • If Death’s Caress resolves but the target creature isn’t destroyed, perhaps because it has indestructible or it regenerated, you still check if it’s a Human. If so, you’ll gain life equal to its toughness. (2013-07-01)
  • Check the creature as it last existed on the battlefield to determine if it was a Human. If it was, use its toughness as it last existed on the battlefield to determine how much life is gained. (2011-01-22)
  • If the target creature isn’t on the battlefield or is otherwise an illegal target when Death’s Caress tries to resolve, Death’s Caress doesn’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won’t gain any life. (2011-01-22)