Marath, Will of the Wild {R}{G}{W}

Legendary Creature — Elemental Beast

Marath, Will of the Wild enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the amount of mana spent to cast it.

{X}, Remove X +1/+1 counters from Marath: Choose one —

• Put X +1/+1 counters on target creature. X can’t be 0.

• Marath deals X damage to any target. X can’t be 0.

• Create an X/X green Elemental creature token. X can’t be 0.

0/0

Illustrated by Tyler Jacobson

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Restrict.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Marath, Will of the Wild:
  • Marath, Will of the Wild is banned as a commander in Duel Commander format, but it may be part of your deck. (Scryfall note, 2015-01-19)
  • The amount of mana you spent to cast this creature is usually equal to its converted mana cost. However, you also include any additional costs you pay, including the cost imposed for casting your commander from the command zone. (2014-02-01)
  • You can’t choose to pay extra mana to cast a creature spell unless something instructs you to. (2014-02-01)
  • If Marath enters the battlefield without being cast, then no mana was spent to cast it. It will therefore enter the battlefield without any +1/+1 counters. If no other effects are increasing its toughness at that time, it will subsequently be put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action. (2014-02-01)
  • You announce the value of X as you activate the ability, and all instances of X in the activation cost are equal to the announced value. For example, if you choose 2 as the value of X, then you pay {2} and remove two +1/+1 counters to pay the cost. (2013-10-17)