Cloven Casting {5}{U}{R}


Whenever you cast a multicolored instant or sorcery spell, you may pay {1}. If you do, copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

“Let us flee to the deep jungle. Our city is no longer safe—and I suspect neither is the fallback retreat.”

Illustrated by Vance Kovacs

Duel Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Cloven Casting:
  • This ability triggers only once for each multicolored instant or sorcery spell you cast. You can’t use a single Cloven Casting to copy the same spell twice. (2009-05-01)
  • You can copy the spell that caused Cloven Casting’s ability to trigger even if it’s been countered by the time that ability resolves. (2009-05-01)
  • The copy will have the same targets as the spell it’s copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. The new targets must be legal. (2009-05-01)
  • If a modal spell is copied, the copy will have the same mode as the original. (2009-05-01)
  • Abilities that trigger when a spell is cast (such as this ability or cascade) won’t trigger when you create a copy this way. (2009-05-01)