Lavaball Trap {6}{R}{R}

Instant — Trap

If an opponent had two or more lands enter the battlefield under their control this turn, you may pay {3}{R}{R} rather than pay this spell’s mana cost.

Destroy two target lands. Lavaball Trap deals 4 damage to each creature.

Illustrated by Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Lavaball Trap:
  • If both targeted lands are illegal targets by the time Lavaball Trap resolves, the entire spell doesn’t resolve. No creatures are dealt damage. (2009-10-01)
  • You may ignore a Trap’s alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met. (2009-10-01)
  • Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn’t change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay. (2009-10-01)
  • Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay. (2009-10-01)
  • You may target any two lands, not just ones that entered the battlefield this turn. (2009-10-01)
  • All creatures are dealt damage, not just ones controlled by the targeted lands’ controller(s). (2009-10-01)