Commence the Endgame {4}{U}{U}

Instant

This spell can’t be countered.

Draw two cards, then amass X, where X is the number of cards in your hand. (Put X +1/+1 counters on an Army you control. If you don’t control one, create a 0/0 black Zombie Army creature token first.)

“Even gods shall kneel.”
—Nicol Bolas

Illustrated by Noah Bradley

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Commence the Endgame:
  • You draw two cards and amass X all while Commence the Endgame is resolving. Nothing can happen between the two, and no player may choose to take actions. (2019-05-03)
  • A spell or ability that counters spells can still target Commence the Endgame. When that spell or ability resolves, Commence the Endgame won’t be countered, but any additional effects of that spell or ability will still happen. (2019-05-03)
  • Army is a new creature type. It’s possible to control a nontoken Army (perhaps a creature with the changeling ability) and, through combinations of other cards, it’s possible to control multiple Army tokens. When instructed to amass, you may put +1/+1 counters on any of your Army creatures, and you may choose a different one each time. (2019-05-03)
  • If you don’t control an Army, the Zombie Army token that you create enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature. Any abilities that trigger when a creature with a certain power enters the battlefield, such as that of Mentor of the Meek, will see the token enter as a 0/0 creature before it gets +1/+1 counters. (2019-05-03)