Fortified Village

Land

As Fortified Village enters the battlefield, you may reveal a Forest or Plains card from your hand. If you don’t, Fortified Village enters the battlefield tapped.

{T}: Add {G} or {W}.

Illustrated by Cliff Childs

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Historic
Legacy
Pauper
Vintage
Penny
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Fortified Village:
  • You may reveal any land card with either or both of the appropriate subtypes. It doesn’t have to be a basic land. For example, you could reveal Prairie Stream from the Battle for Zendikar set to satisfy the ability of Fortified Village. (2016-04-08)
  • Lands don’t have a subtype just because they can produce mana of the corresponding color. Fortified Village itself is neither a Forest nor a Plains, even though it produces green and white mana, so you can’t reveal one to satisfy the ability of another. (2016-04-08)
  • If a Forest or Plains is entering the battlefield from your hand at the same time as Fortified Village, you may reveal the other land to have Fortified Village enter untapped. (2016-04-08)
  • If an effect instructs you to put Fortified Village onto the battlefield tapped, it will still enter the battlefield tapped even if you reveal a land card from your hand. (2016-04-08)