Skarrgan Hellkite {3}{R}{R}

Creature — Dragon

Riot (This creature enters the battlefield with your choice of a +1/+1 counter or haste.)

Flying

{3}{R}: Skarrgan Hellkite deals 2 damage divided as you choose among one or two targets. Activate this ability only if Skarrgan Hellkite has a +1/+1 counter on it.

4/4

Watermark: Gruul

Illustrated by Svetlin Velinov

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Skarrgan Hellkite:
  • You divide the damage as you activate Skarrgan Hellkite’s ability, not as it resolves. Each target must be assigned at least 1 damage. In other words, as you activate the ability, you choose whether to have Skarrgan Hellkite deal 2 damage to a single target, or deal 1 damage to each of two targets. (2019-01-25)
  • If Skarrgan Hellkite’s ability has two targets and one becomes illegal, the remaining target is dealt 1 damage, not 2. (2019-01-25)
  • Once Skarrgan Hellkite’s ability has been activated, it resolves even if all +1/+1 counters are removed from it or if Skarrgan Hellkite leaves the battlefield. (2019-01-25)
  • Riot is a replacement effect. Players can’t respond to your choice of +1/+1 counter or haste, and they can’t take actions while the creature is on the battlefield without one or the other. (2019-01-25)
  • If a creature entering the battlefield has riot but can’t have a +1/+1 counter put onto it, it gains haste. (2019-01-25)
  • If you choose for the creature to gain haste, it gains haste indefinitely. It won’t lose it as the turn ends or as another player gains control of it. (2019-01-25)