Damping Matrix {3}

Artifact

Activated abilities of artifacts and creatures can’t be activated unless they’re mana abilities.

The priests tried cursing it. The mages tried dispelling it. In the end, they all obeyed it.

Illustrated by Mike Dringenberg

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Damping Matrix:
  • Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. (2017-03-14)
  • A mana ability is an ability that produces mana, not an ability that costs mana. (2017-03-14)
  • Damping Matrix’s ability affects only artifacts and creatures on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as bloodrush or unearth) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected. (2017-03-14)