In Search of Greatness {G}{G}

Enchantment

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may cast a permanent spell from your hand with converted mana cost equal to 1 plus the highest converted mana cost among other permanents you control without paying its mana cost. If you don’t, scry 1.

Illustrated by Ilse Gort

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for In Search of Greatness:
  • If the spell you cast has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X. (2021-02-05)
  • A permanent spell is an artifact spell, a creature spell, an enchantment spell, or a planeswalker spell. (2021-02-05)
  • Consider the other permanents you control as the triggered ability resolves to determine which spell you can cast. If the only other permanents you control are lands, or in the unlikely event you don’t control any other permanents, you may cast a permanent spell with converted mana cost 1 from your hand. (2021-02-05)
  • If you cast a spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, those must be paid to cast the spell. (2021-02-05)
  • If a permanent has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0. (2021-02-05)