Abyssal Nocturnus {1}{B}{B}

Creature — Horror

Whenever an opponent discards a card, Abyssal Nocturnus gets +2/+2 and gains fear until end of turn. (It can’t be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

“I fear to keep an open mind, for there are those who would use it as a door to my soul.”
—Voka Schlak,
Mauzam Asylum inmate, diary

2/2

Illustrated by Jon Foster

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Abyssal Nocturnus
  • If your opponent discards any cards during his or her cleanup step to get down to the maximum hand size, the ability will trigger and players will receive priority. After that cleanup step ends, a new one will begin and Abyssal Nocturnus’s effect will end. It won’t carry over into the next turn. (2006-02-01)
  • If your opponent discards multiple cards to a single effect, this will trigger multiple times. (2006-02-01)