Notes and Rules Information for Fire // Ice:
  • You divide the damage as you cast Fire, not as it resolves. Each target must be assigned at least 1 damage. In other words, as you cast Fire, you choose whether to have it deal 2 damage to a single target, or deal 1 damage to each of two targets. (2018-12-07)
  • If Fire targets two creatures and one becomes an illegal target, the remaining target is dealt 1 damage, not 2. (2018-12-07)
  • If the target permanent becomes an illegal target for Ice, the spell doesn’t resolve. You don’t draw a card. (2018-12-07)