Thought Sponge {3}{U}

Creature — Sponge

Flash

Thought Sponge enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the greatest number of cards an opponent has drawn this turn.

When Thought Sponge dies, draw cards equal to its power.

1/1

Illustrated by Jason Kang

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Thought Sponge:
  • Thought Sponge checks how many cards were drawn by opponents this turn, even opponents who have left the game. The greatest number drawn by a single opponent is how many +1/+1 counters it enters with. (2019-08-23)
  • Thought Sponge checks the total number of cards drawn by each opponent, not how many were drawn due to a single instruction. (2019-08-23)
  • Use Thought Sponge’s power as it last existed on the battlefield to determine how many cards to draw for its last ability. If that number is negative, you neither draw nor discard cards. (2019-08-23)
  • Thought Sponge gets its +1/+1 counters at the moment it enters the battlefield. There’s not a time that it’s on the battlefield before its replacement effect has applied. (2019-08-23)