Grab the Reins {3}{R}

Instant

Choose one —

• Until end of turn, you gain control of target creature and it gains haste.

• Sacrifice a creature. Grab the Reins deals damage equal to that creature’s power to any target.

Entwine {2}{R} (Choose both if you pay the entwine cost.)

Illustrated by Michael Sutfin

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Grab the Reins:
  • If you pay the entwine cost, you can sacrifice the creature you gain control of with Grab the Reins. (2004-12-01)
  • If you choose the “sacrifice a creature” mode, you choose the target of the damage on announcement, but don’t choose what to sacrifice until resolution. You must sacrifice a creature when Grab the Reins resolves, even if you don’t want to. If you don’t control any creatures at that time, Grab the Reins deals no damage. (2004-12-01)
  • If you cast this with Entwine, you don’t get priority in the middle of resolution. You can’t steal something, do anything (like attack with it), and then sacrifice it. (2004-12-01)