Whiplash Trap {3}{U}{U}

Instant — Trap

If an opponent had two or more creatures enter the battlefield under their control this turn, you may pay {U} rather than pay this spell’s mana cost.

Return two target creatures to their owners’ hands.

Illustrated by Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Whiplash Trap:
  • You may ignore a Trap’s alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met. (2009-10-01)
  • Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn’t change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay. (2009-10-01)
  • Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay. (2009-10-01)
  • You must target two creatures as you cast Whiplash Trap. If you can’t (because just one creature is on the battlefield, perhaps), you can’t cast the spell. (2009-10-01)
  • You can target any two creatures, not just ones that entered the battlefield this turn. (2009-10-01)