Cursed Totem {2}

Artifact

Activated abilities of creatures can’t be activated.

Pass me from soul to soul, / soldier to herder, herder to beast, beast to soil / until I am everywhere. / Then pass me those souls.
—Totem inscription (translated)

Illustrated by D. Alexander Gregory

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Cursed Totem:
  • Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keywords are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. (2016-06-08)
  • Cursed Totem doesn’t stop players from activating abilities of creature cards that aren’t on the battlefield, such as cycling or unearth. (2021-06-18)
  • Cursed Totem stops players from activating mana abilities of creatures. (2021-06-18)
  • Other abilities of creatures, including static abilities and triggered abilities, are unaffected. (2021-06-18)
  • Activated abilities of noncreature permanents that would make them become creatures (such as a Vehicle’s crew ability) can still be activated. Once they become creatures, any abilities they have cannot be activated. (2021-06-18)