Damping Engine {4}

Artifact

A player who controls more permanents than each other player can’t play lands or cast artifact, creature, or enchantment spells. That player may sacrifice a permanent for that player to ignore this effect until end of turn.

Illustrated by rk post

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Damping Engine:
  • A player affected by this card can sacrifice a permanent any time they could cast an instant. This is a special action that doesn’t use the stack and can’t be responded to. (2008-08-01)
  • A player can only sacrifice a permanent to end this effect if they have more permanents than any other player, and they haven’t already sacrificed a permanent to end the effect this turn. The ability to sacrifice a creature is granted by the same effect that is being ended. (2008-08-01)