Draining Whelk {4}{U}{U}

Creature — Illusion

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Flying

When Draining Whelk enters the battlefield, counter target spell. Put X +1/+1 counters on Draining Whelk, where X is that spell’s converted mana cost.

1/1

Illustrated by Mark Tedin

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Draining Whelk:
  • If the target spell is an illegal target by the time Draining Whelk’s ability tries to resolve, the spell doesn’t resolve. You don’t put any counters on Draining Whelk. If the target is legal but the spell can’t be countered, you do put counters on Draining Whelk. (2021-03-19)
  • Draining Whelk’s ability counters the target spell even if you can’t put counters on Draining Whelk, most likely because Draining Whelk left the battlefield before the ability resolved. (2021-03-19)
  • For spells with {X} in their mana costs, use the value chosen for X to determine the spell’s converted mana cost. (2021-03-19)