Choice of Damnations {5}{B}

Sorcery — Arcane

Target opponent chooses a number. You may have that player lose that much life. If you don’t, that player sacrifices all but that many permanents.

“Life is a series of choices between bad and worse.”
—Toshiro Umezawa

Illustrated by Tim Hildebrandt

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Choice of Damnations:
  • After the opponent chooses a number, Choice of Damnations’ controller may choose to make that opponent either lose that much life or make that opponent sacrifice permanents. (2005-06-01)
  • If the opponent must sacrifice all but a number of permanents, that opponent chooses that many permanents and then sacrifices the rest. If the number chosen is greater than the number of permanents the opponent controls, the player sacrifices nothing. (2005-06-01)