Rekindling Phoenix {2}{R}{R}

Creature — Phoenix

Flying

When Rekindling Phoenix dies, create a 0/1 red Elemental creature token with “At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this creature and return target card named Rekindling Phoenix from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste until end of turn.”

4/3

Illustrated by Jason Rainville

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Rekindling Phoenix:
  • If you don’t have a card named Rekindling Phoenix in your graveyard, the Elemental token’s ability is immediately removed from the stack after it triggers and you won’t sacrifice the token. If that target becomes illegal after the ability has triggered but before it resolves, you also won’t sacrifice the Elemental token. In either case, it will trigger again during your next upkeep. (2018-01-19)
  • If another card copies Rekindling Phoenix (such as Protean Raider may), the Elemental token’s triggered ability will look for a card named Rekindling Phoenix, not one with the other card’s name. This is true even if the card copying Rekindling Phoenix keeps its name while it’s copying Rekindling Phoenix (such as Lazav, Dimir Mastermind does). (2018-01-19)