Ob Nixilis, the Adversary (Magic Online Promos #99687)

Ob Nixilis, the Adversary {1}{B}{R}

Legendary Planeswalker — Nixilis

Casualty X. The copy isn’t legendary and has starting loyalty X. (As you cast this spell, you may sacrifice a creature with power X. When you do, copy this spell. The copy becomes a token.)

+1: Each opponent loses 2 life unless they discard a card. If you control a Demon or Devil, you gain 2 life.

−2: Create a 1/1 red Devil creature token with “When this creature dies, it deals 1 damage to any target.”

−7: Target player draws seven cards and loses 7 life.

Loyalty: 3

Illustrated by Tom Roberts

Notes and Rules Information for Ob Nixilis, the Adversary:
  • As you cast a spell with casualty X, you choose whether to pay its casualty cost and what the value of X will be. (2022-04-29)
  • The copied spell from Ob Nixilis, the Adversary's triggered ability copies exactly what is printed on Ob Nixilis, except its starting loyalty is equal to the chosen value of X and it isn't legendary. The copy becomes a token as it resolves. (2022-04-29)
  • You can control exactly one legendary Ob Nixilis, the Adversary and any number of nonlegendary copies of Ob Nixilis, the Adversary. (2022-04-29)
  • Casualty N means “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may sacrifice a creature with power N or greater.” and “When you cast this spell, if a casualty cost was paid for it, copy it. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for the copy.” (2022-04-29)
  • You may sacrifice only one creature to pay a spell's casualty cost, and you copy the spell only once. (2022-04-29)
  • If you pay the casualty cost of a spell, the copy will resolve before the original spell. (2022-04-29)
  • The copy of the spell is created on the stack, so it's not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. (2022-04-29)