Crooked Scales {4}

Artifact

{4}, {T}: Flip a coin. If you win the flip, destroy target creature an opponent controls. If you lose the flip, destroy target creature you control unless you pay {3} and repeat this process.

Illustrated by Ron Spears

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Crooked Scales:
  • If you pay the {3}, you do not choose a new pair of targets when it repeats. This means that if you lose the flip, you have the choice of having your creature destroyed or paying {3} to try again to win the flip. If you lose again, you get the same choice, and so on. You can keep trying to destroy your opponent’s creature as long as you have mana to pay. (2004-10-04)
  • You choose both targets on activation, so you can only activate this when you can legally choose both targets. (2004-10-04)