Stony Silence {1}{W}

Enchantment

Activated abilities of artifacts can’t be activated.

The relic’s purpose? Its design? Whatever the intent, it is now a mere curiosity that breaks up the horizon.

Illustrated by Mark Poole

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Stony Silence:
  • Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. (2017-03-14)
  • No abilities of artifacts can be activated, including mana abilities. (2017-03-14)
  • Stony Silence’s ability affects only artifacts on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as cycling) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected. (2017-03-14)