Séance {2}{W}{W}

Enchantment

At the beginning of each upkeep, you may exile target creature card from your graveyard. If you do, create a token that’s a copy of that card, except it’s a Spirit in addition to its other types. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step.

Illustrated by David Rapoza

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Séance:
  • The token doesn’t have haste (unless the card it’s copying has haste) and usually won’t be able to attack. (2017-03-14)
  • The token copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else. It doesn’t copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard. (2017-03-14)
  • The token is a Spirit in addition to its other types. This is a copiable value of the token that other effects may copy. (2017-03-14)
  • The delayed triggered ability that exiles the token isn’t a characteristic of the token. If an effect such as populate copies the token, the new copy won’t be exiled. (2017-03-14)
  • If the copied card has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0. (2017-03-14)
  • If the card copied by the token had any “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities, then the token also has those abilities and will trigger them when it’s created. Similarly, any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities that the token has copied will also work. (2017-03-14)