Chevill, Bane of Monsters {B}{G}

Legendary Creature — Human Rogue

Deathtouch

At the beginning of your upkeep, if your opponents control no permanents with bounty counters on them, put a bounty counter on target creature or planeswalker an opponent controls.

Whenever a permanent an opponent controls with a bounty counter on it dies, you gain 3 life and draw a card.

1/3

Illustrated by Yongjae Choi

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Chevill, Bane of Monsters:
  • Chevill’s middle ability and last ability look for any bounty counter on your opponents’ permanents, not just one from that Chevill. For example, if players A and B each control a Chevill and player A has put a bounty counter on player C’s creature, player B’s Chevill won’t put a counter on anything and both players will gain 3 life and draw a card when that creature dies. (2020-04-17)
  • If the creature or planeswalker with a bounty counter on it ceases to be a creature or planeswalker, Chevill’s last ability will still trigger if that permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield. (2020-04-17)
  • If Chevill leaves the battlefield at the same time that an opponent’s permanent with a bounty counter on it dies, you gain 3 life and draw a card. If Chevill leaves the battlefield before that permanent dies, Chevill’s last ability won’t be around to trigger. (2020-04-17)
  • If your life total is brought to 0 or less at the same time that a creature with a bounty counter on it is dealt lethal damage, you lose the game before the last ability goes on the stack. (2020-04-17)