Magister Sphinx {4}{W}{U}{B}

Artifact Creature — Sphinx

Flying

When Magister Sphinx enters the battlefield, target player’s life total becomes 10.

“These benighted worlds are thick with ignorance. I will educate them. They will listen, or they will die.”

5/5

Illustrated by Steven Belledin

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Magister Sphinx:
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, this ability basically causes the team’s life total to become 10, but only the targeted player is considered to have actually gained or lost life. (2010-06-15)
  • This ability is not optional. (2009-02-01)
  • For a player’s life total to become 10, what actually happens is that the player gains or loses the appropriate amount of life. For example, if the targeted player’s life total is 4 when this ability resolves, it will cause that player to gain 6 life; alternately, if the targeted player’s life total is 17 when this ability resolves, it will cause that player to lose 7 life. Other cards that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with this effect accordingly. (2009-02-01)