Notes and Rules Information for Command Tower:
  • The color identity of your commander is set before the game begins and doesn’t change during the game, even your commander is in a hidden zone (like the hand or library) or an effect changes your commander’s color. (2011-09-22)
  • If your commander is a card like Kozilek, Butcher of Truth that has no colors in its color identity, Command Tower’s ability produces no mana. (2011-09-22)
  • In formats other than Commander, Command Tower’s ability produces no mana. (2011-09-22)
  • The color identity of your commander is set before the game begins and doesn’t change during the game, even if your commander is in a hidden zone (like the hand or library) or an effect changes your commander’s color. (2019-10-04)
  • If your commander is a card that has no colors in its color identity, Command Tower’s ability produces no mana. It doesn’t produce {C}. (2019-10-04)
  • If you don’t have a commander, Command Tower’s ability produces no mana. (2019-10-04)