Bronze Guardian {4}{W}

Artifact Creature — Golem

Double strike

Ward {2} (Whenever this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter it unless that player pays {2}.)

Other artifacts you control have ward {2}.

Bronze Guardian’s power is equal to the number of artifacts you control.

*/5

Illustrated by Grzegorz Rutkowski

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Bronze Guardian:
  • Once a ward ability has triggered, it doesn’t matter if the artifact loses ward (most likely because Bronze Guardian leaves the battlefield in response) before the ability resolves. The controller of the spell or ability will still have to pay {2} or the spell or ability will be countered. (2021-04-16)
  • The ability that defines Bronze Guardian’s power applies in all zones, not only while it is on the battlefield. (2021-04-16)
  • If a player casts a spell that targets multiple permanents their opponent controls with ward, each of those ward abilities will trigger. If that player doesn’t pay for all of them, the spell will be countered. (2021-04-16)