Meddling Mage {W}{U}

Creature — Human Wizard

As Meddling Mage enters the battlefield, choose a nonland card name.

Spells with the chosen name can’t be cast.

“This violent wasteland is an indictment of its people. These cowards lack the will to oppose disorder.”

2/2

Illustrated by Todd Lockwood

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Meddling Mage:
  • No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Meddling Mage’s ability starts to work. (2009-05-01)
  • Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Meddling Mage enters the battlefield are not affected by Meddling Mage’s ability. (2009-05-01)
  • Although the named card can’t be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it’s a permanent card). (2009-05-01)
  • You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can’t be cast. The other half is unaffected. (2009-05-01)
  • If a card with morph is named, that card may still be cast face down. Face-down cards have no names. (2009-05-01)
  • Once Meddling Mage leaves the battlefield, the named card can be cast again. (2009-05-01)