Paralyze {B}

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

When Paralyze enters the battlefield, tap enchanted creature.

Enchanted creature doesn’t untap during its controller’s untap step.

At the beginning of the upkeep of enchanted creature’s controller, that player may pay {4}. If the player does, untap the creature.

Illustrated by Ron Spencer

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Paralyze:
  • Paralyze can be cast targeting a creature which is already tapped. (2004-10-04)
  • The creature can only be untapped using Paralyze once per turn. (2004-10-04)
  • Two Paralyzes are not cumulative. Paying either one will untap the creature. (2004-10-04)
  • Paying the cost is optional. (2004-10-04)
  • This is a change from the most recent wording. As was the case in the past, Paralyze itself has the last triggered ability, rather than granting that ability to the enchanted creature. (2007-09-16)