Paralyze (30th Anniversary Edition #116)
30th Anniversary Edition Back

Paralyze {B}

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

When Paralyze enters the battlefield, tap enchanted creature.

Enchanted creature doesn’t untap during its controller’s untap step.

At the beginning of the upkeep of enchanted creature’s controller, that player may pay {4}. If the player does, untap the creature.

Illustrated by Anson Maddocks

Not Legal This version of this card has a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Paralyze:
  • Paralyze can be cast targeting a creature which is already tapped. (2004-10-04)
  • The creature can only be untapped using Paralyze once per turn. (2004-10-04)
  • Two Paralyzes are not cumulative. Paying either one will untap the creature. (2004-10-04)
  • Paying the cost is optional. (2004-10-04)
  • This is a change from the most recent wording. As was the case in the past, Paralyze itself has the last triggered ability, rather than granting that ability to the enchanted creature. (2007-09-16)