Maelstrom Pulse {1}{B}{G}


Destroy target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.

During the collision of the shards, entire ways of life disappeared without a trace.

Watermark: Grandprix

Illustrated by John Avon

Duel Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Maelstrom Pulse:
  • Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. Other permanents with the same name will be destroyed even if they have hexproof or protection. (2018-12-07)
  • If the target permanent becomes an illegal target for Maelstrom Pulse, the spell doesn’t resolve. Nothing is destroyed. (2018-12-07)
  • The name of a creature token is the same as the creature types it was created with unless the token is a copy of another creature or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 red Elemental creature token created by Young Pyromancer and a 4/4 green Elemental creature token created by Walker of the Grove are both named “Elemental.” (2018-12-07)
  • If Maelstrom Pulse resolves but the target permanent isn’t destroyed (perhaps because it regenerates or has indestructible), all other permanents with the same name as it will still be destroyed. (2018-12-07)
  • A face-down creature has no name, so it doesn’t have the same name as anything else. (2009-05-01)