Maelstrom Pulse {1}{B}{G}

Sorcery

Destroy target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.

During the collision of the shards, entire ways of life disappeared without a trace.

Illustrated by Anthony Francisco

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Maelstrom Pulse:
  • Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. Other permanents with the same name will be destroyed even if they have hexproof or protection. (2020-08-07)
  • If the target permanent is an illegal target by the time Maelstrom Pulse tries to resolve, the spell won't resolve. You won't destroy any permanents at all. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), you do destroy other permanents with the same name. (2020-08-07)
  • The name of a token is the same as the subtypes it was created with unless the token is a copy of another permanent or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 red Elemental creature token created by Young Pyromancer and a 4/4 green Elemental creature token created by Walker of the Grove are both named “Elemental.” (2020-08-07)