Cleric of Life's Bond {W}{B}

Creature — Vampire Cleric

Whenever another Cleric enters the battlefield under your control, you gain 1 life.

Whenever you gain life for the first time each turn, put a +1/+1 counter on Cleric of Life’s Bond.

“No gods. Only each other.”

2/2

Illustrated by Andrey Kuzinskiy

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Cleric of Life's Bond:
  • An ability that triggers “whenever you gain life” triggers just once for each life-gaining event, no matter how much life you gain. (2020-09-25)
  • Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, a “whenever you gain life” ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once. (2020-09-25)
  • If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability will trigger only once. (2020-09-25)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it caused your team’s life total to increase. (2020-09-25)
  • An ability that triggers whenever you gain life “for the first time each turn” won’t trigger if you gain life during a turn before the permanent with that ability is on the battlefield, even if you gain life again later in the turn. (2020-09-25)