Valakut Exploration (Zendikar Rising #175)

Valakut Exploration {2}{R}


Landfall — Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, exile the top card of your library. You may play that card for as long as it remains exiled.

At the beginning of your end step, if there are cards exiled with Valakut Exploration, put them into their owner’s graveyard, then Valakut Exploration deals that much damage to each opponent.

Illustrated by Jesper Ejsing

Notes and Rules Information for Valakut Exploration:
  • You must follow the normal timing permissions and restrictions for the exiled card. If it’s a land, you can’t play it unless you have land plays available. (2020-09-25)
  • You’ll still pay all costs for a spell cast this way, including additional costs. You may also pay alternative costs if any are available. (2020-09-25)
  • If you play a card this way, it leaves exile and becomes a new object. If it returns to exile later in the turn, you can’t play it again. (2020-09-25)
  • If you play the card in response to the end step triggered ability, that card won’t be put into your graveyard and won’t be counted when determining how much damage to deal. (2020-09-25)
  • If Valakut Exploration leaves the battlefield, any cards exiled with it remain exiled and can be played. The end step triggered ability won’t trigger, and the cards won’t be put into their owner’s graveyard. (2020-09-25)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, the end step triggered ability causes the opposing team to lose 2 life for each card put into its owner’s graveyard. (2020-09-25)
  • A landfall ability triggers whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control for any reason. It triggers whenever you play a land, as well as whenever a spell or ability puts a land onto the battlefield under your control. (2020-09-25)
  • A landfall ability doesn’t trigger if a permanent already on the battlefield becomes a land. (2020-09-25)
  • Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, each landfall ability of the permanents you control will trigger. You can put them on the stack in any order. The last ability you put on the stack will be the first one to resolve. (2020-09-25)