Skyclave Shade {1}{B}

Creature — Shade

Kicker {2}{B}

Skyclave Shade can’t block.

If Skyclave Shade was kicked, it enters the battlefield with two +1/+1 counters on it.

Landfall — Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, if Skyclave Shade is in your graveyard and it’s your turn, you may cast it from your graveyard this turn.

3/1

Illustrated by Daarken

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Skyclave Shade:
  • Skyclave Shade’s landfall ability triggers only if it’s in your graveyard immediately after the land enters the battlefield. (2020-09-25)
  • You must follow the normal timing permissions and restrictions for Skyclave Shade when casting it with the permission of its landfall ability. You must pay its mana cost (or, if another effect allows, an alternative cost). You may pay its kicker cost when casting it this way. (2020-09-25)
  • After you cast Skyclave Shade from your graveyard, it’s considered a new object, and the permission from its landfall ability won’t apply to it again even if it returns to your graveyard later in the turn. You’ll need to have another land enter the battlefield under your control after it has returned to your graveyard to cast it again. (2020-09-25)
  • A landfall ability triggers whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control for any reason. It triggers whenever you play a land, as well as whenever a spell or ability puts a land onto the battlefield under your control. (2020-09-25)
  • A landfall ability doesn’t trigger if a permanent already on the battlefield becomes a land. (2020-09-25)
  • Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, each landfall ability of the permanents you control will trigger. You can put them on the stack in any order. The last ability you put on the stack will be the first one to resolve. (2020-09-25)
  • Kicker represents an optional additional cost that you may choose to pay as you cast the spell. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is “kicked.” (2020-09-25)
  • You can’t pay a kicker cost more than once. (2020-09-25)
  • If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can’t kick it. (2020-09-25)
  • If you copy a kicked spell, the copy is also kicked. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that’s already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn’t kicked, even if the original was. (2020-09-25)
  • To determine a spell’s total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card’s effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was. (2020-09-25)
  • Some instant or sorcery spells require alternative or additional targets if they’re kicked. You ignore these targeting requirements if those spells aren’t kicked, and you can’t kick those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can kick a permanent spell even if you won’t be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves. (2020-09-25)
  • An ability that triggers when a player casts a kicked spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger, but after targets have been chosen for that spell. It resolves even if that spell is countered. (2020-09-25)