Hellfire Mongrel {2}{R}

Creature — Elemental Dog

At the beginning of each opponent’s upkeep, if that player has two or fewer cards in hand, Hellfire Mongrel deals 2 damage to that player.

There is no fondness between the hound and its master. There is only a common appreciation of the hunt.

2/2

Illustrated by Dan Scott

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Hellfire Mongrel:
  • Hellfire Mongrel’s triggered ability has an “intervening ‘if’ clause.” That means (1) the ability won’t trigger at all unless the opponent whose turn it is has two or fewer cards in hand as their upkeep starts, and (2) the ability will do nothing if that player has three or more cards in hand by the time it resolves. (2009-10-01)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, this ability will potentially trigger twice at the beginning of the opposing team’s upkeep — once for each player on that team. (2009-10-01)