Electropotence {2}{R}

Enchantment

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay {2}{R}. If you do, that creature deals damage equal to its power to any target.

Where life and force collide.

Illustrated by Christopher Moeller

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Electropotence:
  • You target a permanent or player when the ability triggers. You decide whether or not to pay {2}{R} as the ability resolves. (2009-10-01)
  • Once you decide to pay {2}{R}, it’s too late for anyone to respond (such as by activating a regeneration ability the targeted creature has). (2009-10-01)
  • If you pay {2}{R}, the creature that entered the battlefield deals damage equal to its current power to the targeted permanent or player. If it’s no longer on the battlefield, its last known existence on the battlefield is checked to determine its power. (2009-10-01)
  • Electropotence is the source of the ability, but the creature is the source of the damage. The ability couldn’t target a creature with protection from red, for example. It could target a creature with protection from creatures, but all the damage would be prevented. Since damage is dealt by the creature, lifelink, deathtouch, and wither are taken into account, even if the creature has left the battlefield by the time it deals damage. (2009-10-01)