Ixalan's Binding {3}{W}

Enchantment

When Ixalan’s Binding enters the battlefield, exile target nonland permanent an opponent controls until Ixalan’s Binding leaves the battlefield.

Your opponents can’t cast spells with the same name as the exiled card.

Jace awoke to the certainty that he was lost.

Watermark: Planeswalker

DailyMTG Story Spotlight

Illustrated by Chase Stone

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Ixalan's Binding:
  • There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. These cards have the Planeswalker symbol in their text box; this symbol has no effect on gameplay. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at link (2018-01-19)
  • Auras attached to the exiled permanent will be put into their owners’ graveyards. Any Equipment will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled permanent will cease to exist. (2017-09-29)
  • If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and won’t return to the battlefield. (2017-09-29)
  • The exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Ixalan’s Binding leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions. (2017-09-29)
  • If Ixalan’s Binding leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the target permanent won’t be exiled. (2017-09-29)
  • If the exiled card is a land card that’s become a nonland permanent, Ixalan’s Binding won’t stop players from playing lands with that name. (2017-09-29)
  • If there is no exiled card (perhaps because the exiled permanent was a token or was a commander that moved to the command zone in the Commander variant), Ixalan’s Binding won’t stop players from casting spells. (2017-09-29)
  • In a multiplayer game, if Ixalan’s Binding’s owner leaves the game and another player owns the exiled card, the exiled card will return to the battlefield under its owner’s control. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn’t an ability that goes on the stack, it won’t cease to exist along with the leaving player’s spells and abilities on the stack. (2017-09-29)
  • If the exiled card has a different name in exile than it did on the battlefield, Ixalan’s Binding stops players from casting spells with the name of that card as it exists in exile. (2017-09-29)