Permafrost Trap {2}{U}{U}

Instant — Trap

If an opponent had a green creature enter the battlefield under their control this turn, you may pay {U} rather than pay this spell’s mana cost.

Tap up to two target creatures. Those creatures don’t untap during their controller’s next untap step.

Illustrated by Howard Lyon

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Permafrost Trap:
  • You may target any two (or fewer) creatures. It’s okay if any of them are already tapped. If you cast Permafrost Trap for {U}, you don’t have to target the green creature that entered the battlefield under an opponent’s control. (2010-03-01)
  • If a targeted creature is untapped at the time its controller’s next untap step begins, the second part of the ability has no effect on it. (2010-03-01)
  • If an affected creature changes controllers before its previous controller’s next untap step, this ability will prevent it from untapping during its new controller’s next untap step. (2010-03-01)