Brenard, Ginger Sculptor (Wilds of Eldraine Commander #35)

Brenard, Ginger Sculptor {1}{G}{W}{U}

Legendary Creature — Human Artificer

Each creature you control that’s a Food or a Golem gets +2/+2 and has trample.

Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that’s a copy of that creature, except it’s a 1/1 Food Golem artifact creature in addition to its other types and it has “{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life.”


Illustrated by Marta Nael

Notes and Rules Information for Brenard, Ginger Sculptor:
  • Except for the listed exceptions, the token copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing else (unless that creature was itself copying something else; see below). It doesn't copy whether that permanent was tapped or untapped, whether it had any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on. (2023-09-01)
  • If the copied creature was copying something else, then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that creature copied, with the stated exceptions. (2023-09-01)
  • If the copied creature had {X} in its mana cost, X is 0. (2023-09-01)
  • Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the creature will also work. (2023-09-01)
  • If something becomes a copy of the token, the copy also has base power and toughness 1/1, is a Food Golem artifact creature in addition to its other types, and has "{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life." (2023-09-01)
  • Food is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some creatures, it's never a creature type. (2023-09-01)
  • If an effect refers to a Food, it means any Food artifact, not just a Food artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Tough Cookie to activate the last ability of Sweettooth Witch. (2023-09-01)
  • You can't sacrifice a Food to pay multiple costs. For example, you can't sacrifice a Food token to activate its own ability and also to activate the last ability of Sweettooth Witch. (2023-09-01)
  • Some spells and abilities that create Food tokens may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve. You won't create any Food tokens. (2023-09-01)
  • Whatever you do, don't eat the delicious cards. (2023-09-01)