Amy Pond (Doctor Who #378)

Amy Pond {2}{R}

Legendary Creature — Human

Partner with Rory Williams (When this creature enters the battlefield, target player may put Rory into their hand from their library, then shuffle.)

Whenever Amy Pond deals combat damage to a player, choose a suspended card you own and remove that many time counters from it.

Doctor’s companion (You can have two commanders if the other is the Doctor.)


Illustrated by Greg Staples

Notes and Rules Information for Amy Pond:
  • A suspended card is a card that (1) has suspend, (2) is in exile, and (3) has one or more time counters on it. (2023-10-13)
  • If you remove the last time counter from a suspended card this way, you will cast that card. (2023-10-13)
  • Amy Pond has two different partner abilities, but you can't have Amy, Rory, and the Doctor as your commanders at the same time. Amy must choose one of the two. Even if your other commander is one of the Doctor cards, however, the "Partner with Rory Williams" ability can still search for Rory in a library. (2023-10-13)
  • The Doctor's companion ability allows you to have two commanders if one has the ability and the other is a legendary creature that is a Time Lord Doctor and has no other creature types. Creatures with the changeling ability, for example, can't be a second commander this way. (2023-10-13)
  • Although Doctor's companion is a new variant of the partner ability, the rules for partner have not otherwise changed. Notably, Time Lord Doctors and cards with Doctor's companion do not interact with cards which have another partner ability. (2023-10-13)
  • If your Commander deck has two commanders, you can include only cards whose own color identities are also found in your commanders' combined color identities. (2023-10-13)
  • Both commanders start in the command zone, and the remaining 98 cards (or 58 cards in a Commander Draft game) of your deck are shuffled to become your library. (2023-10-13)
  • Once the game begins, your two commanders are tracked separately. If you cast one, you won't have to pay an additional {2} the first time you cast the other. A player loses the game after having been dealt 21 combat damage from any one of them, not from both of them combined. (2023-10-13)
  • If something refers to your commander while you have two commanders, it refers to one of them of your choice. If you are instructed to perform an action on your commander (e.g. put it from the command zone into your hand due to Command Beacon), you choose one of your commanders at the time the effect happens. (2023-10-13)
  • An effect that checks whether you control your commander is satisfied if you control one or both of your two commanders. (2023-10-13)
  • "Partner with [name]" represents two abilities. The first is a triggered ability: "When this permanent enters the battlefield, target player may search their library for a card named [name], reveal it, put it into their hand, then shuffle." (2023-10-13)
  • The second ability represented by the "partner with [name]" keyword modifies the rules for deck construction in the Commander variant and has no function outside of that variant. If a legendary creature card with "partner with [name]" is designated as your commander, the named legendary creature card can also be designated as your commander. (2023-10-13)
  • Note that the target player searches their library (which may be affected by effects such as that of Stranglehold) and that the card they find is revealed, even though these words aren't included in the ability's reminder text. (2023-10-13)