Romana II (Doctor Who #27)

Romana II {3}{W}

Legendary Creature — Time Lord Scientist


{1}, {T}: Create a tapped token that’s a copy of target token that entered the battlefield this turn.

Doctor’s companion (You can have two commanders if the other is the Doctor.)


Illustrated by Tyukina Tatiana

Notes and Rules Information for Romana II:
  • If an effect instructs you to choose a creature type, you may choose Time Lord. (2023-10-13)
  • The token you create copies the original characteristics of the token as stated by the effect that created that token (unless that token is copying something else; see below). It doesn't copy whether that token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on. (2023-10-13)
  • If the copied token has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0. (2023-10-13)
  • If the copied token is copying something else (for example, if the copied token is one previously created by this ability), then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that token copied. (2023-10-13)
  • Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied token will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any "as [this permanent] enters the battlefield" or "[this permanent] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen token will also work. (2023-10-13)
  • The Doctor's companion ability allows you to have two commanders if one has the ability and the other is a legendary creature that is a Time Lord Doctor and has no other creature types. Creatures with the changeling ability, for example, can't be a second commander this way. (2023-10-13)
  • Although Doctor's companion is a new variant of the partner ability, the rules for partner have not otherwise changed. Notably, Time Lord Doctors and cards with Doctor's companion do not interact with cards which have another partner ability. (2023-10-13)
  • If your Commander deck has two commanders, you can include only cards whose own color identities are also found in your commanders' combined color identities. (2023-10-13)
  • Both commanders start in the command zone, and the remaining 98 cards (or 58 cards in a Commander Draft game) of your deck are shuffled to become your library. (2023-10-13)
  • Once the game begins, your two commanders are tracked separately. If you cast one, you won't have to pay an additional {2} the first time you cast the other. A player loses the game after having been dealt 21 combat damage from any one of them, not from both of them combined. (2023-10-13)
  • If something refers to your commander while you have two commanders, it refers to one of them of your choice. If you are instructed to perform an action on your commander (e.g. put it from the command zone into your hand due to Command Beacon), you choose one of your commanders at the time the effect happens. (2023-10-13)
  • An effect that checks whether you control your commander is satisfied if you control one or both of your two commanders. (2023-10-13)
  • Unlike other creature types in Magic that are each only one word, the two words "Time Lord" represent a single creature subtype. Time Lord is the only two-word creature type. (2023-10-13)
  • Neither "Time" nor "Lord" are creature types. Some older cards were printed with the subtype "Lord," but all of those cards have updated Oracle card text that removed that type. (2023-10-13)